Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Twin Cities Marathon 2017

Twin cities Marathon 2017

Pre Race -
It was a cool, rainy morning as I looked out of the hotel window at 6am.  I was making my second cup of coffee and trying to flush out my system so I wouldn't have to stop along the course.  I didn't overeat the day before only having maybe 5 bananas, 4 slices of pizza, and then some spaghetti with meat sauce with bread and butter. 

I was wearing my reebok compression shorts, green Nike short-shorts, and an older pair of aisic gel lyte 33s that I accidentally brought rather than the new ones.  I snatched a dress shirt that I hadn't worn for years as my throw away shirt too.

My goal - consistent pace, 1:24:30 first half and 1:24:30 the second half.  Take 3 gels, the first after 50 minutes, the second gel after 1:35 then one more after 2:15. Hydrate every aid station too.

We headed out of the hotel at 6:30 and it began to rain harder, decided to take the shuttle and hit warm up there since I had a drop bag with a bunch of gear.  

I ended up jogging 2 miles in the rain, with my drop bag, hitting the John to clear my system for the second time that morning - then dropping off my drop bag with a long shirt and pants for afterwards.


Race Time!!

It was a few minutes before the gun went off and I managed my way into the coral making my way to about 10 rows from the front.  We took off, a little fast start hitting 6:10 right away but I slowed letting the sprints take off.  I picked off about 50 the first 2 miles still finding my rhythm.  I unbuttoned my shirt completely by this point and it was flapping behind me like a cape.  It was nice because I was getting quite warm but still cold enough to keep my shirt and gloves on.  

I caught up to my buddy Ed, finally, and chatted with him for a short bit.  He said he was aiming for the low 2:50s.  I met him last year at twin cities so it was nice to see him again.  Right then someone yelled "Scooby" and I looked back but couldn't see who it was.
    

I later found out that it was Victoria (run4prs) who snapped a few pictures of me.  

I ran the next several miles with various runners chatting away.  One guy was running his first marathon and also going for 2:50.  We saw his buddy up ahead who was a 2:45 marathoner. He said he didn't want to run with him, just behind him.  Around mile 10, I eased back off the pace a bit and let him run ahead.

I was still passing a couple runners each mile and feeling good.  I had also gotten into my rhythm and found a strategy of taking half a sip of power aid then dumping 3-5 waters on myself (head, legs, head) just to cool off.  The aid stations were every 2 miles and always seemed to be on a bend, not the tangent, so I was running a bit extra as I would use the entire length to grab extra waters.

It was that time again!  Oh no, I thought, I felt like I had to go to the bathroom.  Sure enough, I did.  So, I began to look for a john.  Right after my watch beeped for 12 miles, I saw one.  I ran a few seconds off course as they were about 10 yards away from the street, hopped in and did my business.  I now make it a habit of checking my watch when I lock the door and estimated I spent 1:20 inside there.  

I jumped out and people began cheering as I was sprinting past everyone like a mad man probably passed 50 runners in 2 minutes.  I hit that mile in 7:31.  Not bad with a 1:20 bathroom break!

I caught up to Ed again right after the half marathon point, and he said he was running faster than expected.  I told him about the bathroom stop and I crossed the half sometime over 1:25:00 and I would need to negative split it to hit my goal.

I ran up ahead as he told me I could do it.  I knew I could, but as the second half is tougher then the first half - with several hills and a net elevation gain. it would require much focus and mental toughness to pick it up. 

It was finally time to take my second gel.  I only managed to take half of it and decided it would be best as I didn't want to end up in the porta potty again.  

I got a good boost after 20 miles and began picking up the pace again, passing lots of runners.  Even the guy who was running his first marathon and others I had talked to earlier.  It felt so easy and I just kept staying relaxed with little bursts here and there.

Hill, oh hills!!!
Mile 22-25 were all uphill.  Uphill, flat then more uphill.  My pace began to slow into the 6:30s but I would still pass 1-2 runners each mile.  The pep in my step had gone away as I struggled to focus and keep strong.  I decided to give more high 5s and when I did, the crowd roared and I fed off their energy.

There's just something about the crowds that gives you energy so late into a race.  I was also looking for this girl Jessica who I had met at Lake of the Isles the evening before and we talked for about 10 minutes.  She said her work was going to be there and she'd be cheering at mile 22.  I hit 21,22,23, and never saw her so I was disappointed I missed her.  Right around mile 24 I heard someone yelling scooby, and saw a big sign!  It was her!  A big smile appeared on my face as I ran over giving her a high 5 and flying high.  

The energy only lasted a minute and I was back to struggling again.  I have more high 5s and passed people running and even a couple waking .  The end of a marathon can be brutal when you are falling apart.  It takes so my focus not to give up.  I wanted that sub 2:50 and I wanted it bad.  I kept at catching one last female - she was 6th overall.  A guy flew by me also flying past her as she was 10 yards ahead.  I have my final high 5s right after my watch hit 26 miles as I began cruising down the hill.  I could see the finish line ahead as my watch read 2:47:05.  I figured it was only a quarter mile or so but after a minute or so I hit the 25 mile sign.  2:48:10ish.  This was it, I could run 0.2 under 2 minutes easily and it was straight ahead.  The closer I got, the farther away that finish line banner seemed.  I kept looking at my watch, 2:49, 2:49:20, 2:49:42 - I thought this would be easy but I found myself desperately sprinting the last 20 yards hoping I would break 2:50.  I saw the clock, smiled and threw my hands up in the air as I knew I had done it.  I worked hard for that sub 2:50.  
Racing so many times and sacrificing a couple of long runs for races was not in my plan and probably made this harder than it should've been.  But I was so happy to break 2:50.  


  




Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Eastern States Training Run #1

50 Mile Training Run Attempt

  So I wanted to work on my nutrition plan since I really need to figure this out.  I know in San Diego I had an Ensure Active at the aidstation around mile 19 and then 2 more near when we looped back to the aid station around mile 81.  They had 250 calories and tasted fantastic!  I planned on trying them today but when i went to buy them last night the store was closed.  I didn't wanna wait until 9am since I wanted to get a head started so i brought typical electrolytes and mandrin oranges and then bananas and orange slices.

  I ran the first 8 miles alone then ran with Mack and the cross country team for another 7 miles before running into Rebecca and her friend where i ran about another 8 miles with her.  I had a banana just after an hour, then a pack of shot blocks with 200 calories after running with mack and then an apple cinammon gel of boom after running with Rebecca which was a little over 3 hours.  400 calories in 3 hours wasn't bad with a couple packs of mandrin oranges before I began totals about 550 calories in 3 hours.  Then, I went on to run back to my car for more where I had 3 packs of mandrins, and an full orange.

  Then, i ran to the store and bought 8 ensure actives, drank one and carried the other 7 back, they were 8 oz each so that was 3 1/2 pounds for 3 miles back.  When i got back to the car i was right around mile 28.5 and not feeling well at all.  I had about 1050 calories and had run almost 4 1/2 hours.  Next i took one with me and had trouble breaking 10 min pace so i took it easy.  After about 2 miles, I sat down on a bench overlooking Lake Cohasset.  I took off my waist bag and drank my ensure that I brought with me.  I was almost at mile 30.  I wasn't sure what to do as I felt so terrible and was still feeling sick.

  Luckily, I saw a lady running towards me so i put my pouch on and ran behind her when she passed me.  Her name is Stephanie and she lives in Colorado.  She just runs for fun about 30 miles a week and hasn't run a marathon in over 10 years.  It was nice running with someone but when we got to her car around mile 33 I was alone again.  I ran back towards my car and after about a half mile i began walking since i felt sick and legs were hurting.  I was trying to decide if I should walk to the car and call it a day or what.  I didn't know if it was because I was bored out there by myself since I felt better right when I began running with Stephanie.

  I mostly walked back to my car getting back at mile 35.  I have been wondering why I can feel so good with taking no calories or just one gel during a 3:00, 3:05, 3:10 or 3:15 marathon but when i run much more than 4 hours i start feeling pretty terrible.  Maybe i loose too much salt?  I never take salt tablets during long runs.  Maybe i should've had ensures earlier?  I want to keep trying things until I find something that works.  

  I just now read the labels for sodium and the gel had 50mg, the mandrin oranges contain 5mg, and the ensure actives have 240mg.  I know that I was sweating like crazy this morning even at an easy pace.  I took the monkey trails rather hard but still it's hard to say.  I can run the monkey trail marathon and not feel like this and it takes 7-9 hours depending on the conditions.  I want to try more salt next time and yes there will be a next time :)  I'd like to keep trying until I find something that works.

Monday, June 15, 2015

San Diego 100

    As I flew over the Arizona mountains, I wondered if I had forgotten anything for the big race, my first 100 miler.  I was going to be running twice as far as my farthest run in just less than 48 hours.  The nerves were setting in along with a bunch of excitement.  Anyone who knows me well, knows that I love fruit, but I also love mountains and San Diego has them both.

  When I first got to San Diego, it was cool and windy.  Clouds filled the sky as we began fishing and I even put my jacket since I was getting quite cold.  It was unusual for San Diego to be colder than Ohio in the spring, but this year was different.  

   Later on that evening, my wish had come true.  Shorty after dinner, I decided to hike up the mountain in the neighborhood on missions trails.  Sal didn't want to go because of the race so I went alone and took a flashlight.  I ran up most of it but hiked the steep sections.  When I finally reached the top, it was pitch black.  I gazed at the stars in the sky and looked over at the city lights and other mountains in the far distance.  I had to hike down as my flashlight battery was nearly drained. 
i'm looking super happy to run

Richard, Catra, me, & Sal - what a group!!

Sal, Robert, Natalie, me, and Nartya

  The next day, I did an 8 mile bike loop past Pedro dam, and through the main trail passing the visitors center.  Then I biked up a long steep hill, and looped back towards the house after passing it.  My glutes and hamstrings were both tight and I was hoping they would be fine for the race tomorrow.  Next, i packed my 4 drop bags checking things off the list: socks, ginger chews, spare shoes, jacket, long sleeve, gloves, headlamp, spare batteries, etc.  I headed out to the pre-race meeting with Sal where I got to meet some other 100 mile runners along with a couple people that were cewing Sal and even Richard.  As were were getting close, Sal was pointing out the different mountains we would be running the next day!


Snapped a picture before the start at Lake Cuyamaca - i was so thrilled that I couldn't get the smile off my face!
      

  The next morning, we were up at 3:15am, getting dropped off at Richard's and riding to the start with him.  I ended up riding with Tina from his crew. We picked up our bibs on race morning, and then took a group picture. 

Trail Crahers all of us finished!  From left to right:  Gloria, Robert, Sal, Richard, Ricky, me

  We lined up at the starting line and I was so happy to take on a new adventure.  Sal was near the front with Ricky, so I lined up with them.  We were given last minute instructions with one of them being to turn around if we didnt see a mile marker for 5-10 minutes.  We took off as lots of people ran past us, single file down through a grass field.  We had only been running maybe 3 minutes when someone yelled to turn where the markers were, so 6 people in front of me turned and the rest who were in front, were now behind.  Yup, I was in the top ten at the half mile mark.

  Not long after, runners would slowly pass me as I hiked up the mountain.  Yes, we had a mountain to climb in less than a mile from the start.  Sal and Ricky caught me and Ricky passed by while Sal stayed with me.  I was taking pictures as it was just so pretty.  


  We climbed a second mountain, stonewall, about ten miles later.  Still feeling great and taking pics on the course.  I was carrying two water bottles, one with water and the other tailwind.  I know at the first 2 aid stations I had had nearly a full banana and several pieces of watermelon.  Also had a piece of bacon and an Ensure at mile 12.  I stayed with Sal a bit longer but then picked up the pace slightly so I could take pictures of him every so often.  Pace felt easy and even by mile 23 we were on pace for sub 20 hrs.  I got to the aid station before Sal so I saw Ashley and Jason, who were crewing him.  

    Somewhere out on the course while i was still work Sal  
   
  I was in the solo division, no crew, no pacers.  This was probably a good thing since I got to see what it was like after no eating much. I dumped out my tailwind and began only drinking water in my bottles from around 23 to the very end.  I kept eating watermelon and had strawberries and grapes the next couple of aid stations.  The heat was setting in and Sal finally caught me with his group of 3 so we ran a couple miles together but by the next aid station, it was only me and one of the other guys.  I had some broth and watermelon, then I took off alone  but Sal caught me while I was at the aid station.  I was worn out and waited for him to hit the bathroom as I didn't feel like going alone.  This was penny pines, mile 34.  We hiked up another mountain as we were headed towards Todd's cabin aid station, mile 39.  This would be at an elevation over 6000 feet, highest point in the race, where we ran easy for a couple miles before going down to red tail roost.  

  I began feeling nauceous hiking up there and had some soup broth at the next aid station.  I told Sal to go ahead as I felt too sick to run and figured if I just hiked a bit I could make it.  It took me 2 1/2 hours to make it 5 miles to the next aid station.  Someone gave me a salt tablet when they saw me sitting down.  I wanted to just get to the aid station so I could drop out.  Wasn't sure if it was the heat, being in the sun for several hours, the altitude, not eating, or a combination of any.  My chest was also hurting too and i believe it was from my body overheating since it would begin to hurt each time I tried to run.  I'm gonna have to work on that if iwanna do any more of these.

Just one of the amazing views from the PCT on the course.

  When I finally made it to the next aid station, Ashley was already gone, but Richard's crew was there and told me to lay down, got me some ice in my hat and some water.  I layed there for at least 20 minutes but finally decided if I was gonna drop out, 45 miles wasn't even a respectable distance to drop at.  I should at least keep going.  

  I told the aid station crew that I was going to leave with the next runner but since no one was ready that I would just catch the girl ahead of me.  I caught her alright but she was walking and I ran past here quickly.  I passed a couple others as laying down and cooling off helped so much.  I walked with this one lady for over a mile, she said her boyfriend would be pacing her and he was like a 2:30 marathoner.  I picked it up and left her though and then met a guy from the bay area and ran with him to the aid station, mile 51.  Had more broth and watermelon.  Took off again and we picked up another runner.  Still on pace for sub 24.  

  The 3 of us ran/walked to the next aid station, mile 56.  We had such a nice group and the other 2 were using me as a pacer since they said they wouldve just been walking if they were alone.  I had a now run my farthest distance, and reached 56.5, penny pines 2.

   The next stretch was one of the toughest.  I had at least gone farther than ever before but the sun was setting and I was getting cold.  I was still only having broth and a couple slices of wtaermelon.  I had packed my headlamp at the last aid station but gloves and long sleeve shirt was waiting at the next aid station.  It was an 8 mile hike from 56 to 64 and I was in the noble canyon.  I was walking and seemed to not be able to even keep up with the walkers.   I felf sick thr whole time, luckily when robert passed me, i ran with his pacer for a couple minutes and he gave me one of his 2 pairs of gloves.  Then another guy passed me who was pacing his wife.  He asked if I was in the solo division and I told him I had no crew or pacers and he turned and gave me a hug.  Then he asked about the race and then offered his jacket tied around his waist.  I declined the offer assuring him that I was dropping out after I reached the aid station but he insisted. He took off to catch his wife.  About ten minutes later he returned giving me hand warmers and forcing me to take a gel.  I made it to the next aid station at mile 64.  That 8 mile stretch took 2 1/2 hours.


  I quickly sat down and told the volunteers that I was dropping out.  They offered me cheese quesasilla, bacon quesadilla, brownies, chips, etc but the only thing that sounded good was broth so I had 2 cups of soup broth.  I was talked into moving on since no one was leaving that aid station for 3 hours.  Another guy was sitting next to me after walking in with walking sticks, I thought I could walk with him. 

  I took off with him and 2 others but after going to the bathroom, I couldnt catch up.  This stretch was also 8 miles and all I had was water.  It was a 2 mile paved road going straight up a mountain, then gentle trails before climbing a single track trail continuing up to the mountain.  Walkers were passing me as I was slowing and feeling sicker and sicker.  I kept telling myself I would drop out at 72, that's where Sal dropped out last year and it was a respectable aid station to drop at.  I wouldn't finish the 100 since I was feeling so sick.  I ended up walking with a guy for about the last 3 miles before the aid station.  We would run for like 2 minutes and then walk for about 10 minutes, then repeat.  We  finally saw the red lights for the aid station up ahead.  I was so happy but felt so sick.

  I felt like I had to puke when we were about a quarter mile from the aid station.  I sat down on a rock and told him is just see him there.  Right when I sat down, I began dry heaving.  Only drops of water came out, nothing more.  I drank almost 2 bottles of water in about 3 hrs again.  I tried to puke 5 times but nothing came out but droplettes.  I felt slightly better but kept thinking how tired I was and how nothing sounded appetizing and I wanted nothing more than to drop out.  

  I made it to mile 72 where Nartaya was at.  I told her I was sick and was dropping out.  I had soup and chocolate milk which tasted amazing.  She gave me 2 more for the road after talking me into going with Natalie.  
Convincing me not to drop out

  So, I took off with Natalie and was hoping to stay awake as my eyes kept closing earlier too.  We left the aid station at 2:35am and I had been awake since 3:15am.  I went a mile before she started running but her running pace was my fast walking pace.  She gave me something to help with sickness but I am unsure if it worked.  Eventually I couldn't keep up with her and I was alone in the dark again.  There was a good couple hundred foot drop to the right as we were on the pct - pacific coast trail.  My eyes were closing again and I decided to nap on the next large rock I saw.  So I did.  I woke up at 5:05am, not sure what time I went to sleep but guessing between 3:30-4am.  I felt energizined and walked quickly to the next aid station.

  Nartaya and her friend were there as I returned the chocolate milk I didn't use.  I had more broth and chips and said I was going to drop out since I took my wet hat off and stuck it in a drop bag earlier. I knew that sun was fierce and I already had sunburn all over my face.  Someone gave me a hat to use and I decided I should run.  I knew now that I could finish, even if it would be several hours later than Sal.


  So, I took off and began running passing runner after runner.  The last aid station was mile 79 so only 21 to go, right?  I decided to run as much as I could while I was still mostly in the shade.  Next aid station was mile 88, I got there in about 1 1/2 hours running the last 7 miles hard.  I felt like a brand new person.  

  When I got to chamber aid station, I sat down, had an ensure and a bunch of watermelon.  Got an ensure in my other waterbottle.  Tasted so good!  My stomach was completely full, almost to the point where it would swish when I ran.  So, i started off easy.
Running into mile 88 aid station, feeling great!
A mountain to climb with 5 miles to go!!



  Only 12 to go!!!  Shortly after I left I ran through a grass field then right past the entrance to the mountain, someone was walking towards me asking if we were going the right way.  I saw a bunch of ribbons a minute ago and said yes and ran about a half mile and realized I was in the same place as the day before when I got lost with Sal and 2 others, another ten minutes or so added on.  Rats!  Up the mountain I went, hiking fast and getting hot again.  I felt foolish getting lost twice in the same exact place.  Probably adding on close to 2 miles total, a good 1 1/2 at least.  
  
  I remembered the conversation I was with Sal as we ran down the side the day before.  Then back down the other side of rockwall and I grew weary but knew I could at least finish, if I only walked.  Heard the aid station and ran down the hill hitting mile 93.1. Only 7.1 to go!  Had watermelon and don't remember what else but took off.  I called Ashley and she said they were leaving and Ricky could take me home. There was another mountain to climb and it took Sal 2 1/2 hrs to go from the last aid station to the end.  I passed like 15 more runners while going up the mountain and when I reached the top, a swarm of bees flew passed.  I ducked down then sprinted away from them and watched as they flew right passed.  Then I just had to go down, right?  I went down part of the mountain then up and up.  I passed this girl who was looking sick and dehydrated, her pacer was talking and she wasn't responding.  I rememebed going down there the day before but now the sun was beating down and I felt sick again so I slowed down.  I walked down the other side even after trying to run but I was feeling overheated and sick.  At least 3 runners passed me as I walked down towards the finish, but I knew that if I kept walking, I would get there.  That stretch was so long even after making it to the bottom.  Another mile or so through woods and tall grass fields and finally crossing the street - I took off for the finish line.  I ran right up the hill towards the finish line and kept thinking how glad I was for not dropping out.  I finished what I came to San Diego for and couldn't thank the volunteers enough for talking me out of quitting.  I was so amazed how refreshed I felt after a short nap.

  Overall, I found the course quite challenging, not as rocky as I expected but there were some rocky sections - Mostly climbing up and down a couple of the mountains.  There was a lot of single track trail, i'df say 80-90% was single track.  Several grassy fields as well.  Aid stations were awesome, lots of bananas, watermelon, pretzels, cookies, chips, some had strawberries, grapes, bacon, cheese quesadillas, guacamole, brownies, soup broth snf other things that i forget.  Also, next time - i would like to use more ice in my hat and around my neck.  I pretty much just wore it and didn't use it for cooling off like I could've.


Race start!
Just after crossing the finish line
Shortly after finishing

Monday, May 25, 2015

Memorial mile

    The Memorial Mile is one of my favorite races in the area.  There are lots of favorites but I run this race every year if I am in town.  It's one of the only 1 mile races where the average runner can just sign up and run.  Entry fee is $8 and they have lots of prizes afterwards.

  So, I went out there with intentions of breaking 5:00.  I knew it would be a stretch since I haven't done a single bit of speed work this year.  I ran a good warm up, 6 miles with Jen and then a couple more before the start with Rocky and then with Kevin.

  There seemed to be less runners than normal and not too many that I knew were racing this year.  Felt kind of odd.  Anyways, we lined up and the gun went off.  I took off a little slow with like 30 runners ahead of me but slowly began passing them as the race went on.  Many of them went out too fast, like normal.  I thought I went out slow but still had a good first 1/4 mile split of like 68 seconds.  I began passing lots of them the next quarter mile too including Tom Grantonic.  I passed him right before the half mile mark as we ran to the top of the hill together.  I think i picked off one more runner at the bottom of the hill but it wasn't enough to break 5:00.  I ended up with somewhere around 5:04.

  Not bad for no speed workouts and only pacing marathons.  That's probably the only 1 mile race that I'll run all year.  This will be one of the few race pics that i'll be able to post this year as my parents were at this one and they can't make most of the other races.


I'm coming through the finish line

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Palm Beaches Marathon


  When the plane landed at the Fort Lauderdale airport, a smile immediately grew on my face.  I arrived with 2 full days before the marathon and was looking forward to getting in a long run in the warm sun.  Leaving Ohio, to run in Florida, can be a wonderful thing in December.

  I ran to Tree Tops Park and discovered my new favorite park in Broward County. It was a decent size park, with about 3 miles of running trails and a mile or so of paved road/bike trail. The trails went through a thick forest, of sandy soil, with lots of citrus trees. There was also this large fig tree with a wooden tower built beside it. The scientific name, ficus benghalatis, is said to be one of the oldest/tallest trees in the area. I've heard the trees have been large enough to build small villages under.



Beauty Berries - I tried them and they weren't to bad

This was the beuaitufl lake i ran around in Tree Tops


  The day before the marathon, I got to run in Fort Lauderdale about 18 miles with F.I.T. aka Friends in Training.  There were at least 5 different groups that met for a long run, Groups A, B, C, D & E, so we passed other groups during the long run.  Water stations were set up in various spots on the course for us too.  On the course, we cross over a draw bridge, twice, each time had to wait.  We also got to run along the boardwalk for a couple miles and got to see the sun rise.  I love watching the sun rise, especially while running along a body a water.  It can be such an incredible feeling watching the sun rise and just thinking about how amazing and beautiful this world really is.

  Later on that day, we worked at the expo and then went to the dinner and the pacer meeting. It was held at a high class restaurant with live opera singers. We could barely hear each other at times, but it was still quite entertaining.

  Next on the list - a good night's sleep for the whole reason on the vacation - the marathon. I was the 3:25 pace group leader and they said the temps were higher than normal reaching into the low 80s. By the time I finish; it should only be in the low 70s but it should be sunny the entire time. The race starts around 6:45, a few minutes after the wheelchair participants.

  It was a beautiful, yet warm day down in Palm Beaches.  The sun came out a little after 7:00, and it grew warmer and warmer.  I had a small group to begin with, about 8 or so, but that group dwindled quickly to only 3 runners after 14-15 miles.   Those 3 dropped off by the time we hit mile 18. 

  Besides running the last few miles by myself, the mile 18 mile marker was wrong. It read 18.6 when its normally only a quarter mile over the true marathon distance. I had to decide if the course was going to be long or if the mile markers were just off. I stayed on pace and mile 19 came early again around 19.9. Then the next 2 miles were approximately a mile apart, like normal, and the course looped back to where we ran earlier; so I decided the course would stay long if the mile markers were hit at 20.9, 21.9, 22.9ish... so I picked up the pace.

  I've never paced nor ran any marathon that was long like this, but would've stayed on pace if I had runners with me but the ones who were, were no longer in sight. I ended up passing runner after runner and finishing right on my goal time - long course goal time, of 3:24:31. I ended up winning my age group and finishing in the top 10. We had a 3:15 pacer, but something happened and he wasn't in the line-up.  Good thing, cause he would've been ahead of me.

Our wonderful pace team (most of them)

  I ran back to the hotel, showered, clecked out, then ran/walked back to visit my fellow pacers. This was one interesting experience, and I treated it like a challenge trying to finish on time with a long course. I congratulated many finishers after, many whom ran their first ultramarathon, since, an ultramarathon, even if it was unintentional.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Stone MIll 50 Miler Race Report

  I hadn't run the 50 mile distance in over a year, nor had I been running back to back long runs like most ultrarunners do.  I paced Harrisburg Marathon last Sunday in 3:04:26 and then ran a 21 miler on Monday and used that as my only back to back long run for training.  Less than a week away was better than never, I assumed.  Last time I had run a similar distance was the Running Wtih Scissors Double Marathon in November 2013 and finished in 9:38, which is just over an 11 minute pace.  No courses are the same of course but I still didn't know what to expect, what kinda shape I was in.  Erin made predictions saying I should be in shape for 8:20, him 9:30 and Heather 12:58(cut-off was 13:00).  It was going to be their first time running that far of a distance and my first 50 mile race.

  I had begun working out again this past fall in an attempt to become a stronger runner and decided that I wanted to attempt my first 100 miler next year.  So, when I was asked to run a 50 miler in Maryland, I quickly agreed.  I didn't have much of a race strategy except to take a day or 2 off before.  I had surprised myself with a 35:10 at the Peace Race last month and also at the Hilloween Half Marathon with a 1:20:04 on an upset stomach, so I knew I was in good shape for shorter distances, but wasn't sure about anything over a marathon.  I had also paced 5 marathons this fall in 3:24, 3:09, and 3(3:04) marathons and felt very good for all of them, but running over twice as long is a whole different ball game as you typically run out of glycogen and begin burning fat cells.

 When I got to Erin's, he made us steak salads for lunch before we drove down.   We arrived at the hotel(which also had packet pick-up) to meet up with Heather and Donnie(her husband was crewing).  We went got to our room, Heather surprised us with an inspirational sign and a mug for both of us :)


  We woke up around 4:30am as the race started at 6am.  I ate 3 bananas and a cup of coffee with some butter and coconut oil inside.  I saw fellow pacer Josh at the starting line as I was trying to think of where to start.  I like to go out a bit slower.  It was still dark out and I ended up starting several rows back running the first 1.5 mile road section with Erin, then the out and back on trail with Erin also.  We were moving at a good pace... around 8:30 pace.  We counted runners on the out and back and I was somewhere around 37-40.

  I just love running somewhere different and on different terrain.  I was trying to figure out a game plan on when I should fuel and make pit stops if needed.  I took my first gu on the 9th mile, so around 1hr 15min.  I ended up taking my 1st bathroom break right around then too.  I kept the pace simple and steady and continued picking off runners little by little.  I ran the first 20 miles with a group of 4-5 others or at least around them as I took a bathroom break every hr or so and stopped at some aid stations and would get passed and then passed them back up later.  I caught the same guys several times, which was kinda fun.

  There was a nice aid station with porta potties on mile 25 and I took advantage of both.  We made a u-turn there and ran on the other side of the canal for 4 miles.  It was completely flat and after a couple miles, the Potamac River ran along the left side of us.   Large boulders were scattered about in that section of the Potamac; which seemed to be almost close enough that you could hop from rock to rock across the river that spanded about 50 yards wide, but if you slipped, you'd sink in over your head.  For those miles I ran 7:58 7:43 7:32 7:56 catching and passing a couple more runners.

  When we went back onto the trail, I slowed the pace down a little, but back to the 8:45-9:15 range for a few more miles.  I was still passing runners and a walker who started early told me that I was in 13th place.  I passed 3 more by mile 39 and moved into top 10.  I was starting to hit the wall at this point as I continued slowing.  A couple more good hills were coming up and I slowed down to just under 10:00 per mile until I hit mile 40, then I was averaging just over 10/mile.  I looked at my watch and it said 40 in 5:44...  I thought, if i slow and keep a 10 minute pace I will finish around 7:44.  After 42 miles, I officially hit "the wall" and ended up walking a good portion of it and mile 43 was 14:18.  A couple runers that I passed a few miles prior had now passed me again.  I did what I could and kept trying to motivate myself.

  The mile 43 aid station was actually mile 42.  My watch said I was early at all of the aid stations for some reason and another runner that I was with had nearly the exact same distance as me which was surprising.  I was happy to see Keith and his wife there aiding me.  I met them at Boston this year as we stayed at the same hostel.  I also saw Allison there too who I haven't seen all year, such a wonderful surprise!  As I was leaving, Keith told me there were only 7 miles to go and his wife said 8 since it's really 51 miles.. I thought maybe since my Garmin was a mile early for each aid station that it would say mile 50 at the finish line and they would think it was mile 51, but that wasn't the case.

   I ran again for about all of mile 44 in 10:32, then miles 45-46 were 13:52 & 13:07 as I ended up walking most of it.  I decided to run the downhills and walk the uphills to save energy.  At this point, I had taken 5 gu's, maybe 3 full bananas and had my waterbottle filled 4 times total and it was never drained completely.  My stomach felt sick and I no longer wanted anything to eat or drink, but once in awhile i'd take a small swig anyways.  Another couple runners passed me as I was walking and one of them told me I had only 5 more to go and I could just walk the rest since I was only bonking.  I ran with one more runner for a few minutes but it didn't last long as I couldn't keep that pace.  Mile 47 was 10:32.

  Now the last 7 miles were suppose to be the same.  They were as i remembered, same trails, bridges, creek crossing, and that long straighaway on road.  I didn't know where the road was but I wanted to be on it more than ever as I knew it was just over a mile when I hit the pavement.  I looked at my watch and realized that i could still run sub 8hrs if i ran the last couple miles faster... so i did..   Mile 48 & 49 were 10:00 & 11:49 as i was still doing a walk/run combo... mile 50 was 8:18 and there were some good uphills on it.  Then I saw the road straight ahead and turned on it.  I tried to keep the pace but the hills were a killer... 3 more rolling hills like hilloween were ahead of me.  I kept the pace easy finishing mile 51 in 9:10 and the last 0.3 miles at 8:35 pace.  My official time was 8 hrs 7 min 13 seconds.  I had beat Erin's prediction of 8:20 and even hit the 50 mile mark just under 7:57.  Erin finished in 10:34 & Heather in 12:08 as she got lost in the dark and ran extra.


  Overall, this race surprised me with how well organized it was.  The aid stations rocked with bananas, chips, soup broths, pb&j sandwiches, grilled cheese, meatmalls, etc.  The post race party was also very good with pastries, both meat and veggie lasagna, several types of pizza, i had the one with broccoli and veggies, yum!  I would definitely add this to next year's race as it was only $40 to register, there's no shirt or finisher's medal but hey, i don't mind a bit!  If i place in the top I'll get something, the way a race should be!

  I was quite please with how well I did on just base miles, solid marathon pacing runs and races. I am hoping to run many more longer runs to improve both my nutrition and running efficiency. I think i'll have to start eating more often also when I do long runs as it should help my stomach learn to digest quicker and easier fuel better.  I'll have to learn what works for me and I am getting excited about 100 miler training :) I plan to run my first 100 miler next year and possibly 3 total, but I will have to see.



Total Pageviews